Skip to content

T-minus 78 minutes and counting

31 October, 2010

Less than an hour and a half before the official start of NaNoWriMo 2010 here in CST, I’m scribbling away at a J.K. Rowling-inspired plot chart. I’m on vacation from my day job for the next two days, so while I don’t think I’ll be pulling an all-nighter, I’m actually going to begin writing at the stroke of midnight.

I’ve done less plotting this year than I should have, I think. I know so much about the universe where my characters live (having done books 4 and 1 in the series for NaNos ’08 and ’09 respectively) that it didn’t seem like I would need to worry about it too much. Now I’m regretting that decision and my brain is un-helpfully supplying alternatives such as “Abraham Lincoln Is My Boyfriend,” a YA novel about a girl who invents an imaginary boyfriend from home so she doesn’t have to tell her new college friends that she’s a lesbian, and a horror novel in which I’m the stupid bad guy who keeps secreting away the mysterious creepy artifacts and saying spells over them and will probably end up killing everyone except the beautiful heroine and hero by the end of the story (that was actually a dream I had last night).

I like this year’s couple, Meghan and Ryan. They like each other (eventually), and I know I’ll like telling their story, but I don’t know them well enough to love them yet. They haven’t quite come into focus. Here’s hoping that it happens within the next 30 days…

Oh, and for extra fun? A patient at my dentist’s office had an emergency last week, so my appointment got rescheduled from a reasonable mid-Thursday to a painful 8:30 AM on Monday. At least I don’t have to go to work, and I’ll be too distracted to freak out while they’re filling in my chipped tooth and fitting me for a night guard (surprise, the anxious control freak grinds her teeth!).

Almost down to an hour. Wish me luck!

NaNo 2010 Plot Chart (in progress)

From → NaNoWriMo, Writing

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

