Skip to content

Drill, Baby, Drill!

17 October, 2010

Last week, as part of ongoing efforts to transform our second bedroom from a room-where-we-keep-stuff-that-doesn’t-fit-in-other-rooms into a bona fide Guest Bedroom/Elizabeth’s Home Office/Craft Room (and still have it hold all the stuff that doesn’t fit in other rooms), I ordered some casters for my ArtBin Super Satchel Cube. When I went to install them on Friday, I realized that they required drilling of holes.

Luckily, drilling is no problem around here. The Leading Man is excellent with tools and enjoys using them to show off his not-inconsiderable manliness. He agreed that on Sunday he would drill the holes and install my casters. w00t. By Sunday, however, I had come up with a better plan: do it myself.

Now, I know how to swing a hammer, but only in the literal sense. I can put together IKEA furniture pretty well, and I can do your basic household jobs like installing curtain rods, but I leave all the power tool work to the LM. He’s a trained engineer and I sometimes walk into walls by accident, so this is mostly a matter of safety.

But Megan, leading lady in this year’s NaNoWriMo novel, is a woodworker. She specializes in restoring old furniture, buildings, etc. She’s more than just an expert at her trade; she’s an artist. This seemed like a great idea when I first created her last year, but now I’ve realized that it’s not going to be enough to gloss over the scenes where she’s actually at her job, and it’s not going to be enough to read DIY articles on how to refinish hardwood floors. I need to get my hands into it, and today I started with learning how to use a drill.

I’ll admit that I was a little terrified, but the LM assured me that I would do fine and he could totally play Wii golf and supervise me at the same time. Turns out he was right. I don’t think I’ll be refinishing old furniture any time soon, but I got three of four casters installed without any problems besides dropping screws on the floor, and I would have gotten the fourth one done if the drill hadn’t lost its charge. By the end of the day, I’ll have a stowable storage chest, a new skill, and a little more insight into Megan’s daily life.

The LM has informed me that the drill has finished charging, so it’s back to work I go. Wish my fingers luck! I’ll need them in November.

From → NaNoWriMo

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

