Skip to content

1. Write Novel. 2. ??? 3. Profit!

18 February, 2010

I rarely read nonfiction. I have a desperate hunger for stories, for finding out what happens next, for escaping to someplace other than my real life, for getting to the happy ending (no unhappy endings for me, thank you very much). Given the limited amount of time I have to spend reading each day — 24 hours at the most — I almost always choose a fiction book.

I’ve had it on good authority, though, that there are many wonderful nonfiction books out there, and among those, many wonderful books about the craft or business of writing. And lo, it seems to be true! Here are the ones I’m working through at the moment or have just finished:

1. Putting Your Passion Into Print: Get Your Book Published Successfully!, Arielle Eckstut and David Henry Sterry

A Christmas gift from Santa, this one is all about the business of writing. This was the first “writer-y” book I started reading, and it’s quite intimidating at times. Yes, somewhere in the back of my mind I’ve always known that there would be a few steps between “Write novel” and “Become rich, famous novelist with twenty cats” (other than adopting all of the cats, of course), but seeing them all spelled out is daunting. I’ll probably end up re-reading this one when I actually have a finished novel.

2. Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life, Anne Lamott

Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life
My Goodreads rating: 5 of 5 stars

This one was recommended by my boss, who is generally right about everything. Generally, this is not a quality I admire in people as it can become rather annoying, but on her it works. This book was no exception. Full review at the Goodreads rating link, assuming I didn’t break everything by tweaking their cut-and-paste HTML.

3. Time to Write: More Than 100 Professional Writers Reveal How to Fit Writing into Your Busy Life, Kelly L. Stone

I came across this one on amazon.com when I was spending rewards credits from my amazon.com Visa card. I’m desperately in need of a) advice on how to add time for writing into my life, and b) books to read when I should be writing but don’t feel like it, so I’m super excited about this one.

4. The Writer’s Way, Sara Maitland.

I was trying to remember the name of a book my boyfriend’s cousin recommended and found this one; I have no idea whether this is what she meant, and in fact she may have meant a website and not a book, but the reviews looked good and I was able to get it from PaperBack Swap, which I love.

Books are also helpful for when one is supposed to be resting/icing one’s dominant hand after stupidly falling on some ice, and one’s typing with the brace on loloks a liot hlike this;. Off to do some reading!

From → Writing

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

